queer wedding story

i’m queer, i’m getting married. this is our story.

A ring! February 12, 2007

Filed under: girly,m,me — Misslissa @ 10:23 am

I got M a ring on Friday. We’re calling it a ‘placeholder’. It cost less than $20 and it’s not that nice, it’s not ugly, but it’s plain and silver and we got it at the ferry terminal. I feel strange about it, that she put so much thought into the ring I wear on my finger and we chose hers in a flurry before we caught a ferry. It looks great though, every time I see it I smirk. It helps to remind me of all the things M works every day to ensure I don’t forget.

In other news, I think I want to wear a veil. I’ve was inspired after seeing this post on Offbeat Bride. It’s not the poofy horrible thing I always imagine veils are and she looks lovely. In her comments, she does admit to removing it after two songs, but I think it’s looks lovely.

By the way, Offbeat Bride rocks my world! I haven’t read Ariel’s book yet, but it does seem to be the right kind of book from a perspective that won’t get me all upset. Besides, I like Ariel’s style and irreverence, her pink braids and her obsession with documenting lunch.

I had a horrible dream the other day. M and I were getting married in my old high school’s Multi Purpose Room (multi purpose indeed!). M wasn’t really happy about plans to walk down the aisle with my parents and so wandered ahead. I figured M would stop at our makeshift alter, but instead kept on walking, into the chairs set up and proceeded to remove articles of clothing. To be honest it was just trousers, but in my dream it was the height of transgression! How dare you remove your clothing at our wedding! I was furious and stomped over there trying to convince my betrothed to put on what I saw as required clothing, and marry me. M kept resisting, standing there, hands on hips, refusing to give in. I woke up before it ended, but I was quite upset. I turned to M and immediately demanded a promise that trousers would be worn for the ENTIRE duration of our wedding ceremony and reception!

 

Leave a Reply

