queer wedding story

i’m queer, i’m getting married. this is our story.

We Could Elope… February 5, 2007

Filed under: family,me — Misslissa @ 2:58 pm

So much has changed at this point. The wedding won’t be this year, mostly because of other people and because we’ve shifted our priorities. I want to go back to school, we want to sell the apartment and we really want our families to be there. Flying to Canada is too much of a financial burden for most of M’s family at this point. Scotland is very far away.

I often miss thinking that I’m getting married this year. I see lovely invitations, beautiful venues and brilliant ideas for ceremonies but I don’t need them with the same immediacy as I did three months ago. Now I try to remember them, put them in a file or let M know I like it, hoping that in the telling, I’ll remember.

In the shifting, the theme has moved from fall to spring, from gingko to tea party and from now to what feels like never. It makes me sad and it makes things so much easier.

 

Leave a Reply

